Follow mikethementor on Twitter
Subscribe to Mike the Mentor's free newsletter - and get 2 bonus articles "The Future of Leadership Coaching" and "Mentoring" available only to new subscribers.

* required



Social and Email Marketing by VerticalResponse

7 Classic Mistakes that Values Programmes Make
The Act of Will
Competing Commitments
Context - a powerful tool for change
Core Qualities
Covert Processes - the Hidden Forces that Prevent Change
The Creative Process
Creating Sustained Change - The Ideal Self 1
Creating Sustained Change - The Ideal Self 2
Desire and Addiction
Faulty Thinking and the ABC Model
From Know-How to Do-How
From Know-How to Do-How
Guilt is Good for You!
The Miracle Question
Managing Progression and Regression
Shifting Stuck Patterns
Single, Double, and Triple-Loop Change
Star Diagram / Personality Functions
Stages of Change
Working Identity
Traps - How We Delude Ourselves
Your First 100 Days
Stages of Change - Using the Right Change Process
Changing for GoodThis model identifies 9 different change processes - and shows when to use them within a 5-stage change process to help others change successfully.

Many approaches to behaviour change assume that, once someone has identified the changes they need to make, they should be able to make and maintain the changes. If they don't, this is taken to demonstrate a lack of will-power or motivation.

Prochaska et al, in their book Changing for Good, point out that successful behaviour change is rather more complex: with taking action being just the most visible of a number of stages, each of which is necessary to the process of successful behaviour change. They identify the following stages:

  • Precontemplation: "There is no problem, and therefore no need to change"
  • Contemplation: "There is a problem - I'll deal with it one day"
  • Preparation: "There is a problem - and I'm going to deal with it soon - and I've even started to make small changes"
  • Action: "I am changing my behaviour, and managing the associated thoughts and feelings"
  • Maintenance: "I am consolidating the new behaviours, and guarding against relapses"
  • Termination: "My old way of behaving no longer holds any attraction for me"
and the following 9 major processes:
  • Consciousness-raising: increasing awareness and insight about yourself and the problem, and about the self-defeating defences that get in your way
  • Social liberation: providing social support for change (eg values statements, competency frame-works, cultural norms)
  • Emotional arousal: evoking positive feelings about the change you are contemplating
  • Self-re-evaluation: taking stock of your current situation and recognising that the change you are contemplating would substantially improve your life
  • Commitment: choosing to act, and to believe in your ability to change
  • Countering: finding and practicing the new be-haviours that will replace the problem behaviours
  • Environment control: avoiding situations that evoke the problem behaviours and choosing those that encourage the new behaviours
  • Rewards: rewarding yourself, or being rewarded by others, for changing
  • Helping relationships: enlisting the help of others.
The diagram shows the stages of change at which the change processes are most useful.

This model has interesting implications for coaching - especially the commonly held expectation that six or eight two hour sessions should be enough for most coaching needs. This will often be true when the coachee is already at the preparation or action phase. But a highly effective piece of coaching working with someone at the pre-contemplation or contemplation stages may lead to no visible behavioural change, even though the coachee may have made many of the internal shifts necessary to prepare them for action.

Therefore, before designing a coaching intervention, assess where in this change process your prospective coachee is - and then manage the client's expectations accordingly.

Copyright © 2013. Dr M H Munro Turner. All rights reserved